Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science was established in 2016. It aims at building and guiding an academic community of students to develop an open, critical and analytical study of the discipline.The teaching programme of the Department encourages a comprehensive study of the field of politics, keeping especially the Indian perspectives in focus. The Department also aims at developing awareness among the students of the basic issues and problems of the society related to politics. The Department is rich in academic potential comprising teachers with years of experience and having high teaching abilities. The Department has the strength of three faculty members, 26 students enrolled in Undergraduate programme.

Faculty Members

Mr. Ashok Brahma (HoD & Vice-Principal)

Qualification: MA (GU), B.Ed (GU), PGDHRE (BU), FDP (MHRD), SLET

Contact No.: +91-7636094900


Subject Teaching:

CC-4 : Politics in India – II (Semester-II) 

CC-10 : Global Politics (Semester – IV) 

CC-13 : Modern Political Philosophy (Semester – VI)

DSE-4 : India’s Foreign Policy (Semester – VI)


Mr. Sanchuma Goyary

Qualification: MA (GU), M.Phil (NEHU), SLET, UGC-NET, Ph.D (Pursuing) 

Contact No.: +91-9954804247

Subject Teaching:

CC14 : Indian Political Thought – II (Semester – VI)

GE-4 : United Nations (Semester – IV) 

CC-9 : Public Policy (Semester – IV) 

SEC-2 : Peace Study (Semester – IV)


Mr. Bibarsha Boro

Qualification: MA (BU), UGC-NET 

Contact No.: +91-7002950749

Subject Teaching:

CC-3 : Political Theory (Semester – II) 

GE-2 : Feminism (Semester – II) 

CC8 : Comparative Government – II (Semester – IV)

DSE-3 : South Asia (Semester – VI)


Mr. Gaurishankar Basumatary

Asst. Professor: Department of Political Science

Qualification: MA (Political Science), Pune University